o Masikitiko appointed Acting Director General

The Minister for Industry and Trade Hon. Dr. Abdallah Kigoda has launched the new TBS Board of Directors and tasked it to restructure the TBS Management with immediate effect.

During the ceremony that took place at TBS headquarters in Dar es Salaam, Dr. Kigoda said the new Board has to work hand in hand with the Ministry of Industry and Trade so as to ensure TBS performs effectively.

Dr. Kigoda said the newly formed Board follows the disbandment of the former Board which lasted for seven months after failing to follow directives from the Ministry regarding restructuring of the Bureau’s Management which he said had proved to be ineffective.

“TBS is there for a purpose and since its establishment in 1975 it has been playing a great role in standardisation issues, therefore, the organisation needs to be well focused due to its importance to the society,” stressed Dr. Kigoda.

He said the Ministry has trust in the new Board, therefore it has to make sure that the Bureau performs its statutory obligations of ensuring consumer and environmental safety through quality assurance. He directed the Board to ensure TBS Management delivers in six months.

He further urged the Board to ensure that cooperation is maintained between TBS and other organisations such as Tanzania Food and Drugs Authority (TFDA), Fair Competition Commission (FCC), Fair Competition Tribunal (FTC), National Consumers Association Council (NCAC), and the Police Force as this will help to reduce the challenge of counterfeits and substandard products in the market.

The new Board which consists of 11 members will is chaired by Prof Cuthbert Mhilu from the University of Dar es Salaam. Other members are Dr. Fidea Mgina (Ministry of Industry and Trade), Mr Rashid A. Salim (Deputy Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Industry, Trade and Market-Zanzibar), and Prof. Ntengua Mdoe (Sokoine University of Agriculture).

Others are Ms. Magdalena Utouh (Fair Competition Commission -FCC), Mr. Godfrey Simbeye (Tanzania Private Sector Foundation -TPSF), Mr. Michael Kamba (Attorney General’s Office), Dr. Pamela Sawa (Ministry of Health and Social Welfare), Mr. Jasson Bagonza (Ministry of Finance), Mr. Juma Rajab (Maxcom Africa Ltd) and Ms. Fatma Riyami Diwani (Nature Ripe Kilimanjaro Ltd).

Meanwhile, following Minister Kigoda’s directive, the Board of Directors has appointed Mr. Joseph Masikitiko to be the Acting Director General of Tanzania Bureau of Standards, replacing Mr. Leandri Kinabo who has been acting in that capacity since the former Director General, Mr. Charles Ekelege was temporarily relieved of his duties in mid-2012.

Announcing the move, the Board Chairman, Prof. Mhilu said Mr. Kinabo will continue with his former position of Director of Standards Development while Mr. Emmanuel Ntelya, the Chief Planning Officer, will fill the position of Director of Cooperate Services left by Mr. Masikitiko.